10 Things I LOVE : 09.04

1. Spring! When it’s NOT raining. It’s not my FAVORITE season – that’d have to be fall, but I do love the newness and anticipation that Spring brings. I love the starting over. I love knowing that summer is near(ish). I love starting to get outdoors again. I love making all our holiday plans!

p4140018

2. Eating from my own garden! There is nothing better than making a recipe and saying “Oh, I have this ingredient down in my garden. I’ll go get it.” Of course, all I’ll have this year are tomatoes and raspberries, so we’ll be eating a LOT of tomato salad and raspberries on French Butter Cake

p41300321

3. BLOGGING 😉. I’m 160 posts in, and busy as all heck, and still manage to have things to say just about every day. People are even reading – AND COMMENTING! I love – LOVE – getting comments and answer every single one. It’s validating, sure, but I also enjoy the ongoing conversation of it. The comments always add to the piece, so it’s cool that way. I already have the Poetry of Life poems set up to post twice a month through until OCTOBER. Ooooh, the anticipation !!.

p4170005

4. Dinners. Family dinners, dinner parties – give me 90 minutes in the kitchen, and preferrably an unlimited budge, and I’m in my happy place. Dinners out get harder the better you begin to cook, but if it’s something I woudn’t cook at home, I still enjoy it! Once a year I get two dinner cravings – and only ONCE a year : for a Big Mac and for Chinese Food. Chinese was done last night, so I’m good for another year. We’ll talk about that Big Mac.

p4140027

5. My sleep… Oh, I do love my sleep. I miss my sleep, desperately. I love my pillow – I take it with me on every holiday to ward off bad sleeps. I love my warm fuzzy blanket. I love my med-hard bed. So far these two hotels have offered THE ABSOLUTE BEST sleeps : Manteo Resort in Kelowna, BC and the Sofitel at the Heathrow Airport in London. THE best beds in my life.

6. OPI. We have a bit of nailpolish and are ever-collecting, but must say OPI is our fave. Not only great colors, but they go on smoooooth as silk, and aren’t too soupy or gloppy. Are soupy and gloppy words? Who cares. We particularily liked the “France” collection.

p4170001

7. Fashion. Love to look at clothes. Always have. Always will. Wish I had money and time to dress half way decent. Always have. Always will. ‘Nuff said. Check out my “wish list” and my “Fashion picks“. I won’t bore you with a photo of how I currently dress. Yawn.

8. Homeschooling. I’m so excited for September to come! To get a teacher-aide, to get fresh new boxes of books, to watch Tt on his first soccer team, to sign up for piano (oh, wait… that will likely be painful…). Ahhhh, it’s hard to wait for Sept when you really don’t even have to ;-). Tt? Not sure I would use the word “excited”. He still thinks that school IN ANY FORM is “optional”. *sigh*.

p4140022

9. Thrifty shopping! Guilt-free shopping – who knew? So far the only things I pick up are collared shirts for the boys (mostly Boo – the older ones are too worn or just plain old UG-leee), and kitchen gadgets, but it’s the thrill of the hunt. We’ve about exhausted the thrift stores and will be moving up to “home consignment” stores in the near future. Will keep everyone posted, I’m sure ;-).

p3280193

10. Tea. Nothing like beginning the day with a cup of tea while making the boys breakfast, reading our Bible story and talking. And nothing like ending the day with a cup of tea while softly tapping away at my computer (except for that DANGED “I” key which Boo yanked off that never sits quite right and so I BANG it into place and say bad words) visiting people near and far. Ahhhhh, tea. Especially on tuesdays ;-).

Which ones do YOU love too??

blog-signoff-220.

.

.

.

Other posts you might enjoy:
10 Things I LOVE : 09.03 Recipes!
10 Things I LOVE : 09.02
10 Things I LOVE : 09.01

16 Responses

  1. Let’s see. . .
    1) Agreed.
    2) I don’t want to talk about that. Too much shade and too many bunnies here and I am JEALOUS of your garden.
    3) Yes.
    4) I used to love those. I am currently burned out. (Figuratively, not literally)
    5) That is so funny. I was just thinking yesterday about blogging about sleep. It’s my favorite past time.
    6) Never tried it but now I want to.
    7) Ugh. Not a strength of mine. I have to take a friend along to make sure I get it right.
    8) N/A. No patience.
    9) Ditto.
    10) I like the idea of tea but I’m a coffee girl.

  2. Mindee : Bunnies!?? Wow!
    I can’t wait to read your blog about sleep! I just slept on the couch, with two boys kicking me all night… Not the best one yet.

  3. I love sleep too. I miss sleep. Sigh.

  4. Sarah : Someone needs to invent a “spa/daycare/napping place” where we can drop off our kids in the front, and go for a massage or just an hour’s nap in the back. How has this not been invented yet?!?! There are days I’d gladly pay $50 for an hour or two of catch-up sleep!!

  5. I miss having a garden, mostly for the herbs, there is nothing like fresh herbs to liven up even a mediocre dish. And my flowers, although whenever I brought them in the house the cats would eat them. I’ve grown some of both on my little balcony window, but its not the same has having your own garden to sit and/or putter in.

    And I also love cooking for a dinner party. Nothing like the combination of satisfaction for a job well done + making something for others that they enjoy. I liken it to the joy I feel when I give someone a present that I know they will love. ‘Tis truly better to give than to receive.

  6. those are some good things to LOVE! great post.

  7. Robin : And food – really good, made-with-love food, is the way to anyone’s heart! Esp mine.

  8. Jen : Thanks! Well, I think it’s a great post b/c they’re all things I love ;-).

  9. Spring! (except for the havoc wreaked by allergies in my sinus cavities)
    Blogging!
    Sleep! (which is what I should be doing right now…but no I’m back to number 2 there)
    Tea! (I forget about it, though, and don’t drink it-in college, it was every night though)
    You seem so content, it’s nice to read!

  10. Gessh, I miss sleep too 🙂

    Loved your comment today!!!

  11. Christina : Content… I’m getting to it! I’ve found TOO many things to love can actually lead to quite a discontent – too unfocused, too brain-scattered, too distracted. But I’m coming to terms with my wandering mind and diverse eye!

  12. Rambler : Sleeeeeeeeep. *sigh*. How can such a simple thing be so elusive???

  13. Can I just say YES to everything on your list?! Well, except homeschooling. I don’t do that. Yet. Maybe someday in the future.

    LOOOVE my sleep, love tea, love OPI (I’m a licensed nail tech and it’s the best out there), love fresh veggies I’ve grown, love sunshine and Spring…

  14. Beki : WELL, how validating that our nail polish pick agrees that our favorite is the best! I can’t wait to tell my daughter ;-). We’re just waiting for them to come out with some new colors… Keep us updated on that !? Lol.

  15. –>I love Spring too. We went to the beach this weekend and came home to plant our vegetable garden.

    http://thaxtonfam.blogspot.com

  16. Deb : Ahhh, the beach! We’re in California right now. One more thing to love about spring – VACATIONING away from the rain!!

Leave a Reply

