Homeschool #016 – Can’t see the Trees for the Forest

Tt, in our “first year” of homeschooling, has learned many, MANY things. He could name over 20 species of sharks by the time he was just over 2 1/2. He can draw elaborate stories in pictures. He can tell you the names of at least 40 various Star Wars characters – as well as which scenes they were in, and in which of the 6 movies they appeared. He can tell you all about Ancient Egypt, Medieval times and knows the difference between a Gladiator and a Knight. He has travelled to Paris and backpacked through Italy. He can draw our home – accurately – in 3D. He knows what a “striker” and a “keeper” are. In short, he’s seen and learned a huge variety of stuff.

p41300011

(trying to  build a pyramid out of sugar cubes, a la PW)

And I’m all thinking we’re up on it, doing well, keeping up with “other kids” – until we happen upon one of these other kids… Then, usually after an hour or so of playing, I look at Tt and realize – whether telling left from right or tying your shoe, there was a little boy who didn’t know what to do!

p4130004(I must admit, it was NOT very structurally sound… maybe it was the glue?!)

In all our adventures in books, walks, playgroups, field trips, etc, we’ve seen many BIG things – and I’ve completely missed and/or forgotten to teach him BASIC things! Many a “D’oh!” moment has occurred.

Now, once in awhile this has been intentional – what adult doesn’t know his left from his right? He’ll learn it when he needs it. I assume he’ll figure it out one day, go back to studying bugs on our walk, and don’t give it another thought. Until “other kids” bring it up again. D’oh!

p4130034(voila! or whatever “there it is!-ish” is in Egyptian. I don’t think they have a heiroglyphic for that…)

I can’t help wondering if not purposely integrating the basics into our teaching will come back to bite him in the butt one day. Maybe. He really doesn’t seem to care, and I’m mostly comfortable with the bigger picture of what we’ve been doing. But for now, we’re looking past the individual tree and just enjoying our meanderings through the entire forest – one step at a time.

Enjoy learning something today!

blog-signoff-214.

.

.

.

Other posts you might enjoy:
Homeschool #015 – For the Record
Homeschool #014 – Where the Wind Blows

Homeschool #013 – Math/Spelling Worksheets

6 Responses

  1. I totally admire anyone who has the patience to homeschool. I know I don’t have it and am personally looking forward to the day I can ship them off to school and get a moment’s peace to myself!

  2. Koala : OOohh, don’t give me too much credit – I’m just too lazy to GET UP to ship mine off at god-forsaken hours of the morning😉.
    Plus, I have the advantage of seeing the “quality” of education the girls have gotten up to almost-graduation now, and … well … ’nuff said.

  3. I think your boy is learning a tremendous amount! I’m pretty sure he’ll pick up that whole shoe tying thing eventually.🙂

  4. Obi-Mom : Well, and if he doesn’t, I’m sure they have velcro for adults by now…

  5. My son first tied his shoes in third grade. I’m sure he could have done it before then, but it wasn’t worth the fight. It’s not a matter of intelligence but small motor skills and patience. He lacks both.🙂

  6. Mindee : Good to hear! My kid’s extremely coordinated, just lazy… And simply doesn’t care. And neither do I, when I really think about it.

Leave a Reply

