Manual Photography Selections : #03

Ok, I know I said I’d try to take more pics of things OTHER THAN my kids, but… I said I’d TRY, not that I WOULD. And, I’m still in the midst of volleyball season, which means that my indoor-poor-lighting-fast-movement challenge is still on.

A few weeks ago I tried some film, but forgot my flash.
This is the result:

41880018And that was the best of the bunch.
So, this past weekend I brought the flash. Fortunately she told me afterwards that it didn’t bother her – even as it was going off in her face as she made some heroic shot or other!

84830008
Still quite a bit darker than I’d like, but finally I’ve stopped motion! I can’t seem to get this shot with the digital, even on manual settings. Even the ball itself is clear!

84830017
I’d like to crop in closer to “my subject”. And try some contrast adjustments. These are right outta the can because I don’t yet own or know how to use Photoshop.

848300041
Can you hardly tell she’s done years of ballet??

84830005
This one wasn’t as clear, but it’s my “money shot”! I can’t remember if she saved this ball or not, but she sure looks good trying!

I have one more try for “THE” indoor volleyball shot – next tournaments in better stadiums.

In the meantime, I took a roll or two in my backyard yesterday – it was SUNNY! AND WARM!!
I’ll post those sometime soon, assuming any turned out.

Enjoy!

blog-signoff-211.

.

.

.

Other posts you might enjoy:
Photos : Granville Island, Spring
Manual Photography Selections : #02
Manual Photography Selections : #01

2 Responses

  1. I admire your effort. Vollyball is hard to shoot. The lighting is weird and it’s hard to position yourself correctly. I find outdoor sports to be much easier.

    My dancer plays soccer. She makes very elegant goal kicks. 🙂

  2. VERY much harder than beach vball – I get great shots no problem out there.
    But, then I guess that’s why I like the challenge. Or the torture.
    A few tournaments coming up will have better-lit stadiums, so I still have another few tries before the season ends!!

Leave a Reply

