Family Dinners

If you’ve read any of my site, you know by now I love food. Good food – not just any food, although I have been known to eat the odd Big Mac. One of the other things I love is my family, so it goes without question that eating food with my entire family is bliss.

While we generally all eat breaky at different times, the boys and I last at around 8:30am (gotta LOVE homeschooling!!), and we’re usually apart at work/school/out for lunches, but dinner is ALWAYS our together time.

I love that we always eat dinner together as a family, even if it’s only a 15-minute dinner between various volleyball practices. I don’t even mind that it’s sometimes rushed, as long as we’re together.

dsc_1960
And because it means so much to me, I usually find a way to make it special. With a special dish, with special place settings, with special fancy lemonade drinks, whatever I can find, even if it’s just set at the kitchen island.

dsc_1955

For the ceasar salad recipe, go here.

dsc_5417
This was a “fancier” dinner, but sometimes I set the table like this for no reason. Or because it’s Wednesday. Or because I had nothing else to do while my roast cooked. Well, not with the centerpiece, but you get the idea.

p3290005
Sometimes it’s just soup and sandwhiches, in pretty little new bowls for spring…

p4030033

A pretty table makes for a little celebration.
And, any time my family is together for a meal, it’s a little celebration!

Enjoy a dinner with your family!

blog-signoff-22.

.

.

.

Other posts you might enjoy:
The Diet – Spreadsheet version
Happy Valentine
Dinners Around the World – France Edition

8 Responses

  1. LOL you would hate my house then…breakfast and lunch is on trays on the couch! I so wish we had an island in our kitchen that the boys could sit on stools at in the morning.

  2. Sarah : I design houses – I’ll come draw one up for you ;-).
    OH, and we often eat in front of our TV, so don’t feel so bad!

  3. Did I just stumble on Martha Stewart’s site? Your “table scapes” are lovely. Things like this only happen in my house on a major holiday.

    You inspire me to do great things mid-week! Thank you. Such a great start to my Monday.

    -Francesca

  4. Francesca : You’re so sweet! The great thing is that all the stuff on the table was cheap-giant-grocery-store stuff, IKEA, on-sale Pottery Barn or Thrift Store. When it’s “cheapo”, I don’t mind using it every day. Plus, I guess I figure that if I’m going to spend 1-2 hrs cooking something, we’re DANGED WELL GOING TO ENJOY IT AS SPECIAL!

  5. Holy cow, you are a saint.

  6. Beki : Or just a snob… I can’t quite figure it either ;-).

  7. wow – love that table!! I’m all about pretty tables and you just reminded me that I want to get new napkins. Hmm….

  8. Tabitha : Just don’t get cotton – I cannot wash those suckers to save my life! I stick with poly napkins from now on ;-).
    Which night should I be over for a fancy dinner??!

Leave a Reply

