Fashion Files

Most people don’t know this, but before I went into Architecture I had planned to become a fashion designer. You’d never guess by how UNfashionable I dress… I designed and helped sew both my grad dresses (middle school + high school). The designs are too embarassing to publish… SOoooo pink. I can’t stand pink – what was I thinking?? Good thing I chose to design houses rather than dresses. I seem to be much better at it.

But, my hopes have not completely died for a fashionable existence. I keep a “fashion file” of things dreamed of and hoped for… One day… When I have time, awareness, money and a renewed ability to sew.

Looking through my book last night with my younger daughter, A, I see a lot of common threads (!) of the style I would have, had I more time, awareness, money and ability to sew. *sigh*.

p3300011

I love it. All of it.
The boots (Choo) ($1,200 US!! ya…) are a perfect white – not “go-go” white, but a subtle ivory. Sweet.
The jewery, the shirt, all of it. fab-u-lous.

p3300014

I have no idea who designed anything on this page… It wouldn’t matter – I’d never be able to afford designer originals. It’s more the shapes and textures I love.

p3300015
Colors colors everywhere! In a different life, I loved colors. In my real life, I’m all black and white. Slowly but surely I’ve been adding more and more colors to my wardrobe through bags and scarves. Next up – colorful jewelry.

p3300017
From left to right: Marni (LOVE LOVE LOVE that crop fuzzy jacket); Bottega Veneta; In Rochas (does anything NOT look great on Jennifer Aniston??); and, ignore the boots – there’s a coat I liked folded up that didn’t get in the photo.

p3300018
Little grey coat – NY Collection, Macy’s. I actually could have afforded this one ($65US), but now it’s probably long gone (some of these pics are from YEARS ago). *sigh*. Ashley Olsen in Calvin Klein – I’ve never liked her outfits, but this is simply pretty. Under – GORGEOUS satin/organza gown by Nina Ricci. As if I’d ever have a place to wear it…

p33000191
LOVE LOVE the black patent-leather sachet purse by Gucci. OOOHHhh, if only I had L900 on me. That’s just under $2,000 Cdn. For a bag. Maybe Target sells a knock-off… I have a grey dress similar to this one, which I now MUST find a skinny scarf to wrap around the waist of. Must.

p3300021
Just saw these cute slips for updating any old skirt – A-dor-A-ble. And, that pale Michael Kors tank/flowy skirt?? OH, how I dream of wearing that as I walk about barefoot on a tropical island. I’m also noticing jackets with a slightly interesting cut. Not toooo intersting, mind you. I’m classic at heart.

p3300023
I also keep clippings of beautiful – simple – hairstyles that one day I’ll try. One day. Must train daughters to do my hair, and vice versa. Noted.

p3300024
And can’t forget my hopes of one day updating my liquid-eyeliner based look. I save clips of anyone with green eyes, just in case I one day find the time to try out makeup looks. By then, of course, I’ll be too old to wear these looks and get away with it, but c’est la vie.

Whew!
And that’s only half of my clippings!
Won’t I just look SOGREAT and fabulous one day???
Of course I’ll be 60 by then, and will need a whole new book of clippings for “older women”, but it’s always good to have a dream. You’ve gotta have a dream. What’s your dream?

Enjoy the latest In Style, Vogue or whatever else is your pleasure!

blog-signoff-235.

.

.

.

Other posts you might enjoy:
Post-Oscar and Post-NY Fashion Week
Thrifty Finds : Crystal Glasses
Resolutions

5 Responses

  1. You have fabulous taste! I like that brown dress to the left of Jennifer Aniston…

  2. Koala : Yeeessss, one day I shall be gorgeous, daahhhling.
    For now, I’m still plain and old lookin’. Oh, well.

  3. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  4. Drool!!!

    Kinda makes me think I should wash my hair and change out of my sweats…

  5. Beki : OOohh, getting the time to wash my hair is considered a really good day around here. I’ll live with the sweats look a little while longer… Gotta take it one step at a time!

Leave a Reply

