The Wonderfully Versatile Baguette

I’m not a “breads” person, but I love a good baguette.
Crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy in. Ahhhh.

We stop every Thursday at our local Granville Island markets and pick one up.

dscn4779

We eat.
We feed birds.
(Don’t they look skinny and starving?? ya, riiiight.)

dsc_7433

We have a few slices with our dinner.
Then it’s left in the bag to stale overnight.

dsc_0591

Stale baguette – sounds… crunchy.
In the am, we have stale baguette french toast, with syrup and blueberries. It softens up juuuuust so nice.

dsc_0525

At noon we finish it off with buttered baguette toasties, goat cheese and tomato slices. Ahhhhh.
It also makes for great thin-sliced, garlic-and-cheese basted crackers with dinner.
OR plain and stale to soup as biscotti to a latte.

dsc_0695

Wonderful, versatile.
YUM.

blog-signoff-219

6 Responses

  1. mmm… that sounds good right now! I shouldn’t read this while hungry. 🙂

  2. Haha! Sorry! I love pictures/blogs about food ;-), even though I’m working at the Ultimate Healthy eating guide at the same time… *sigh*!

  3. Oh YUM!!

    I *wish* I weren’t a bread person, but I just love it. I’ve said many times that I think I could live on bread alone. 🙂

  4. Sorry – I introduced not only bread, but ways to keep eating it for days!
    I’m evil!

  5. Great post! I am wishing I had a baguette right now! Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Ahhh, yes! The world needs more baguettes.
    And not the supermarket kind like we had this morning, french toasted up for breaky. They just do NOT taste the same…

Leave a Reply

