Bloggarific

I’ve been at this blog thing for less than two weeks, and I must say it’s been interesting.

There’s an entire world out there I had NO IDEA existed. I seriously thought I was “up on things” just by having Facebook. Tres naive. I had previously been sent links to Pioneer Woman, but I thought it was a one-off special kinda websitey thing. (admittedly hers is still the only one I actually read, but I think it’s more a website than a blog). In the past week I’ve been googling around various blogs to see what the heck this stuff is all about.

I can’t BELIEVE it! Just in “Mom Blogs” alone (which I’ve read is a term Mom’s who Blog don’t like) there are links for Mom’s who work, Mom’s at home, Mom’s with large families, Mom’s who Homeschool, etc, etc, etc. AND THERE ARE MILLIONS OF ‘EM! I tried also reading my brother and sis-in-law’s blogs, but OHMYGOSH dry, unless you’re into millions of computer words.

And everyone seems to have their own reason for these creative little spaces in time. Mom’s (especially Mom’s at home, whether they also work or not) seem to need some kind of me-time outlet to journal, be creative, get their thoughts out, let their steam out – you name it. Sounds good!

dsc_7108

But then comes the “frills” – do you post it on Mom Blog sites? do you download ads? do you find sites for extra sparkly graphics? do you do an email send out? do you seek out a following? do you offer free giveaways? WHEW! Too much fuss and pressure for me.

I’ve been continuing to question my own reasons for being here in this apparently huge cyber-world, and while looking at other sites it’s hit me. I don’t like to read other blogs. Not because they’re bad, but I’ve realized that I just don’t like to read. Words lose me (unless they’re really descriptive) – pictures move me (why don’t more blogs have more pictures than words??). I won’t even buy a cookbook unless it has a photo for every single recipe beside it.

(note I’m adding in totally random photos here to keep people like me with lazy brains entertained).

dsc_7113

I’m visual (which I suppose is how I ended up in Architecture!). I’ve also realized, after 37 years that I really do love to write. I’ve come to assume there are masses of Mom’s who prefer to just read blogs, and ones that prefer to just write ’em.

dsc_7111

I’ve never forgotten that time in gr. 6 or 7 living in some city on the island when I wrote an essay on Australia and won an award and got to travel somewhere to pick it up in a ceremonyish thingy (Ok, so I’ve forgotten all the details, but I’m pretty sure it’s still a valid memory). Since my 20’s, I’ve started 3 or 4 books, 2 novels, 1 screenplay and 20 lyrics (not including the 20 or so lyrics I miraculously have completed). I’ve also journaled since I was a teenager – guess this is my new edition old-lady journal version. And it’s somewhere to keep my writing-brain functioning until I can finally find the time to actually sit down and FINISH that screenplay. Or a book.

We’ll see if I can keep it up for more than a few weeks…

dsc_7115

Leave a Reply

