Turning 40… (3 years to go and counting)

THE big 4-0 is now less than three years away… Deadlines of all kinds are probably looming. Many of my friends have already “gone over” to the other side… I’m starting to think – what do I really think about turning 40?

Today it hit me – I’m going to be getting older. (Three years still seems kinda far away, so I’m not going to really feel “older” until I’m about 39.5) (I’ll schedule the minor breakdown into my daytimer now). But not just that – I’m always going to be getting older. We get older and older day by day until our days, that finite amount we each are given, are simply done. Over. I thought, HECK, why wait until I’m 80 to wonder what it’s like to look down towards the last five years of my life? Why wait to wonder what I wish I’d DONE before my time was up?

I think first off I’d make a list…
(I’d make it a spreadsheet if this blogger’d do it – GOSH I love spreadsheets!)

THINGS I REALLY WANT TO DO BEFORE I TURN 40 (or, things I should do before I croak…):

– Check my life insurance policy…
– Write that danged will I’ve been procrastinating on for the last 6 years
– SIT STILL and read with my boys more
– SIT STILL and chat with my girls more
– Update my ongoing “journals to Kids” to continue passing all that crap in my brain onto them long after I’m not here to read or chat
– Finish those scrapbooks!
– Take one utterly relaxing, do nothing, sleep-as-much-as-I-want vacation… *sigh*. by myself. oooooh, feel the bliss!
– Catch up on sleep, then get more sleep
– Go on some dates with Husband
– Have a few more great dinners with friends of all kinds
– Read my Bible cover-to-cover one more time
– Take one more big family vacation (I might even consider a cruise) (nah, who’m I kiddin’?)
– Finish that screenplay… or at least write a few more chapters… ok, just add some notes on the margins and call it a day.
– Perfect my bouillabaise, eat at least 2 more cassoulet’s and have 3 more crab dinners
– Start walking more to lose the weight from all that food so I don’t die feeling so lumpy
– Plan one heck of a 40th birthday party.

Oooh!
Good start. (Although odd to note that the thing I most seem to want to do before I rest for eternity is… well, rest.)
Forty – here I come!

One Response

  1. to help with the Bouillabaise … come on over!

Leave a Reply

